I had filmed a video yesterday morning, one of those “What’s in my Bag?” videos, then finally posted it on my channel this morning.  While I think I did okay on it, in actuality I think I have way too many bags. My husband says I do. While I do tend to overpack for any endeavor, I love bags. Not purses, mind you, but bags that serve a purpose (I hate purses, btw. ).

For instance, there is my little Krafter’s Purse, which is kind of cute by the way, and quite “bright breast cancer pink,” but again, I bought it to serve a purpose: to hold arts and crafts supplies. And it’s small, especially compared to my (quite large in my opinion) standard-size craft bag. And both of these have some great pockets for keeping things organized and easily seen, but out of the way.

Then there’s the tote bags. I have quite a few of those. I have a quite sturdy cotton canvas tote with real wood buttons (well, I lost one button but I don’t care), that work with a loop closure to keep the top closed. Great in case of rain. I like to use this if I’m going somewhere with at least two of my journals. I’ve had this tote bag for about two years. Another reason I like this bag is that I can wash it with the rest of the laundry. When it’s fresh and clean, I even rub clear wax on the bottom and the handles to keep it from getting dirty too soon.

Last year, I found a 100% organic cotton tote bag. It’s smaller and much less sturdy than the above bag, and has long handles ( I can’t use any bags with long handles because I am tempted to hang them on my shoulders. I have been told by my chiropractor not to do this), but for some reason I like it. Right now, I use it for keeping my current crochet projects out of the sun. I think it works well for this.

I also have a cotton canvas briefcase I use for toting my laptop to meetings, if I feel like I need it.

Then, like I mentioned in the video, I had found that little black backpack. I think it will be useful for me. I recently got rid of a bonded leather backpack purse I’d had for years. I loved it. But it was time to let it go. It had gotten worn with time, and there were features it had I never used.

So while I have hemmed and hawed over trying to find a bag that works for me, and what I think I need now, I actually think that what I need is. . . .  what I need that day.

So. Yeah. . . .  I know.

 

 

About Heather Dewey Pettet, Writer/Crafter

I am a writer, editor, artist and crafter, as well as a mom. I have done community journalism as well as written on my personal experiences. I have been writing professionally since 2000. I have covered community events and news, been a freelance copyeditor, and written on my experiences as a breast cancer survivor. I am also a mom to a great boy who happens to have autism.
This entry was posted in Crafting, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

