I am a generalist.

I am a writer. I have deliberated for a long time about whether or not to specialize. I had read in writers magazines for quite a while that it is quite a good idea to specialize in a subject or two (or three).  However, listening to a friend talk a few times recently about how she is a generalist really got me thinking.

Okay, maybe I have many clips on medical subjects, but I have realized there are so many things I am interested in that I can no longer ignore.

So I have to write about them.

Here are the subjects I would love to write about: Medical (including ADHD, autism and other disabilities, and cancer); Health (including exercise, nutrition, cooking and natural living); Crafting, Collectibles, and Travel; Folklore and Celtic Studies; Literature, Writing and Language.

Some of these subjects overlap. Some don’t. And I think that’s fine with me.

Of course I am willing to write about anything that comes my way. I have even written business profiles for local weekly newspapers. I’ve done copyediting professionally, for a variety of publications and websites.

But mostly, I just have to write.

Heather

About Heather Dewey Pettet, Writer/Crafter

I am a writer, editor, artist and crafter, as well as a mom. I have done community journalism as well as written on my personal experiences. I have been writing professionally since 2000. I have covered community events and news, been a freelance copyeditor, and written on my experiences as a breast cancer survivor. I am also a mom to a great boy who happens to have autism.
This entry was posted in Autism, Breast Cancer, Cancer, Cooking, Copyediting, Language, Nutrition, Parentling, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

