About Me and My Services

This is the first post of this version of my blog, so I’ll start with introducing myself. I am Heather Dewey Pettet. I am a writer and editor. I started freelancing for newspapers in 2000, and have enjoyed myself ever since. I got bit by the journalism bug, and have pursued an Associate’s degree in Mass Communications. I have also been on the other side of the desk, as I was editor of the HCC (Hillsborough Community College) student newspaper, The Hawkeye, on two separate occasions. After having my son, I continued to work on completing my Associate’s degree, all the while freelancing for newspapers and a magazine. Also, I was an intern at Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Florida. Once my son was diagnosed with autism, however, things had slowed down, so I focused on getting him the help he needed. I recently became interested in re-entering the freelance work force, and also in starting a blog about the disability community where I live, in Upper Pinellas County, Florida. I want to use my experiences with my son as a springboard for a concentration in writing geared to the disability community. With a professional background in writing for health-based organizations, and a personal background in health-related topics, I feel I am best suited for writing about the real, everyday lives those with disabilities—and their families—face. On the editing side, I was also a freelance copyeditor for two years for an international publication about healthy eating, and also have assisted with copyediting for a website. On the collegiate level stated above, I have been Editor-in-Chief, Copyeditor and Sports Page Editor. I have created, or assisted in creating, in-house style guides for magazine and book publishers. My specialties include blogging and features writing with a medical focus, particularly on disabilities; medical writing; food writing; nutrition, travel, health & fitness; general copywriting; copyediting and proofreading. I have a sharp eye for detail and have editorial experience using the AMWA (the American Medical Writers Association) Style, AP (Associated Press) Style and the Chicago Manual of Style. I am a member of the NCDJ (National Center on Disability and Journalism) (who have their own style guide, by the way), and BAPWG (Bay Area [Tampa Bay] Professional Writers Guild). I am a former member of SPJ (Society of Professional Journalists), TWA (Tampa Writers Alliance) and FWA (Florida Writers Association). I am fascinated by the English language, and have been since I can remember. I will be writing in the future about writing, editing, proofreading, language, grammar, and constructing sentences. Also, I will be writing about the writing, editing and other books on language that I recommend to all my writer friends. Also, I will talk about the mistakes that I, too, make. I guess I’m human, after all.

About Heather Dewey Pettet, Writer/Crafter

I am a writer, editor, artist and crafter, as well as a mom. I have done community journalism as well as written on my personal experiences. I have been writing professionally since 2000. I have covered community events and news, been a freelance copyeditor, and written on my experiences as a breast cancer survivor. I am also a mom to a great boy who happens to have autism.
This entry was posted in Copyediting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

